New Hampshire

The Office of Professional Licensure Certification is the regulatory body for beauticians in New Hampshire. Regulating departments are the Board of Barbering, Cosmetology and Esthetics and the Advisory Board of Massage Therapists.

Non-Regulated Beauty Services in New Hampshire, USA:

Regulated Beauty Services in New Hampshire, USA


Barbers in New Hampshire can take the barber or master barber license. Master barbers offer more services than barbers, such as styling hair and applying cosmetic preparations.

Barbers can complete 800 training hours or 1,600 apprenticeship hours in a minimum of 12 months period. Master barbers can finish 1,500 training hours or 3,000 apprenticeship hours in a minimum of 18 months period.


Hairstylists should be licensed cosmetologists in the state. The law requires applicants to finish 1,500 training hours or 3,000 apprenticeship hours in a minimum of 18 months period.

Makeup Artist / Facialist / Waxing Technician / Lash Technician (Lash Extensions)

These professionals should be licensed in esthetics. Estheticians are required to complete 600 training hours. Those who have practised for a minimum of 3 years before July 1, 1989, and have satisfied the board’s requirements are not required to challenge the examination.

Training credits may also be given to licensed barbers, cosmetologists or massage therapists who are interested in this license if they satisfy the standards of the board.

More information about esthetician licensing is provided here:

Makeup, facials, waxing and lash extensions are also available in the cosmetologist license. Individuals can choose the type of license they want to have.

Nail Technician

Nail technicians are expected to get a manicurist license. They must finish 300 training hours or have earned a cosmetologist license and have been an apprentice for a period equivalent to the training hours required for manicurists, which are reviewed by the board.

Massage Therapist

Massage therapists must finish 750 training hours in theory and practice to take the examination. A temporary license is also issued to massage therapists from other states who don’t meet New Hampshire’s requirements. The license is valid for 12 months to allow applicants to comply with the additional educational requirements in the state.

Non-Regulated Beauty Services in New Hampshire, USA

Spray Tanning Technician

New Hampshire doesn’t regulate spray tanning. Individuals can learn the skills online or from any training provider.

Lash Technician (Lash Lift, Lash and Brow Tinting)

Lash lifts and lash & brow tinting are not regulated in the state. Interested individuals in these services can train from any program provider to learn the right skills.