Rhode Island

The Department of Health provides various regulations for the beauty industry in Rhode Island. They require professional training and education to be conducted in an approved beauty institution.

Non-Regulated Beauty Service in Rhode Island, USA:

Regulated Beauty Services in Rhode Island, USA

Hairstylist / Lash Technician

Hairstylists should become licensed cosmetologists in Rhode Island. The state demands applicants to finish 1,500 training hours. Upon completing 1,000 clock hours, students can start providing services to clients to gain experience.

Lash techs have a specific set of licensing regulations in Rhode Island. They must complete at least 50 hours of training in cosmetology and receive a certificate of completion. They can also get their training from an out-of-state school with equivalent requirements as the approved institutions in the state.

Makeup Artist / Waxing Technician / Facialist

Estheticians in the state can offer multiple beauty services to clients, including makeup, waxing and facials. Applicants must complete 600 training hours for a minimum of 4 months.

Nail Technician

Nail techs are expected to finish 300 training hours to take the licensure exam.


Barbers need 1,500 training hours or can take the apprenticeship route. They must register their apprenticeship programs with the department before taking the full-time apprenticeships for 2 years. A combination of formal training and apprenticeships is also allowed in the state. Applicants must finish 1,000 training hours and a minimum of 840 on-the-job training hours.

Massage Therapist

Massage therapists need 500 training hours and must pass the MBLEx or other similar examinations approved by the department.

For further licensing details for beauty services in Rhode Island, check out this link:


Non-Regulated Beauty Service in Rhode Island, USA

Spray Tanning Technician

Rhode Island doesn’t have licensing laws for spray tanning. Aspirants can train with any provider to get professionally skilled.